What Happens at Stanhope Methodist Church
Sunday Services

Sunday morning Worship starts at 10.30am and usually lasts about an hour.

Worship and Prayer:

Sunday 3rd March   Rev Bruce Sawyer, All Age Worship

Thursday 7th March, 7.30pm. Praise in the Dale 

Sunday 10th March   Service led by the Worship Group

Sunday 17th March
      10.30   Service led by the Worship Group
      2.30      Messy Church

Thursday 21st March, 7pm, Men's Fellowship 

Sunday 24th March   Rev Bruce Sawyer, Communion

Sunday 31st March   Joan Guy

Thursday 4th April, 7.30pm. Praise in the Dale 

Sunday 7th April   Matthew Hilton, All Age Worship

Sunday 14th April   Local Arrangement

Maundy Thursday 18th April. 7.30pm Communion, Rev Bruce Sawyer

Good Friday, 19th April
      2pm   Good Friday Service at St Thomas, Stanhope
      7.15pm   Willington, Tenebrae Service

Sunday 21st April, Easter Day   
      5.30am Sunrise Service, Middlehope Moor
      10.30   Rev David Hall, Communion 

Sunday 28th April
      10.30   Rev Bruce Sawyer
      2.30      Messy Church

Thursday 2nd May, 7.30pm. Praise in the Dale

Sunday 5th May   Dorothy Emerson, All Age Worship

Saturday 11th May, Prayer Day at Pity Mea Cottage 

Sunday 12th May   Rev Bruce Sawyer 

Thursday 16th May, 7pm. Men's Fellowship 

Sunday 19th May
      10.30   Service led by the Worship Group. "David", a Roger Jones musical
      2.30      Messy Church

Sunday 26th May   Rev Bruce Sawyer, Communion

Other Events

Thursday , 23rd May. Circuit trip to Holy Island, leaving Willington 9am

Saturday 6th April, 10.15am, Willington. Circuit Vision Day

Saturday 6th April, 6pm. Quiz Night with Pie and Peas supper 

Men's Fellowship

The Men's Fellowship was established in October 2005 and has proved to be a very successful venture.

On average between twenty and twenty five members attend - some from the Methodist and Anglican Churches and some with no church connection at all.

The ladies cook a two-course meal for us (cost £7.00) and that is followed by a guest speaker. We start the evening at 7pm and usually finish around 9pm. Meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month from October to May.

In the past we have had some excellent speakers - for example Rev. Graham Carter, ex President of the Methodist Conference; Rev. Leo Osborne, chairman of the Newcastle District and Dr. David Bellamy.

For further information please contact the secretary Frank Bell on 01388 526849.

 

Indoor Bowls


We have an indoor bowls club which meets every Wednesday evening at 7pm. The club is currently fully subscribed as we have to restrict numbers due to space. But if you are interested in joining us then please contact Margaret Mckellar 01388 528686.

The club comprises members of the Methodist and Anglican churches and those of no church affiliation. It is our intention to enter a Church team in a local league - when we are good enough. This could take some time!

Bible Study

We meet every fortnight for bible study and fellowship. For more information contact Bruce on 01388 528245.

 

Praise in the Dale

All the Methodist churches in the dale meet together once a month at the chapel in Stanhope at 7.30pm for a joint service. This service will usually take place on the first Thursday of each month.